Oskar Karlsson game dev

bloggpost_one_bild.png
Picture of  Vampire Concept​ ​Document

 

 

I am oskar Karlsson the lead programmer in the group Archon. And for the first week I worked on the code for the player movement. We are making a game out of Team Vampires concept document and the game is named Aetherial. Player movement is scripted whit the C# language and Unity is the game engine that the game is made in.

I started of whit looking on the space shooter tutorial in Unitys web site to learn how to use Unity. After this I searched on google for player movement in Unity and I ended up finding some code that were usable for our needs. I opened unity and made a new script for the player sprite and I named that script playerMovement. In this new script I started writing the code that I found, and I made it fit to the GameObject and its components. I made the speed public so that it is possible to change it during testing of the optimal speed. Whit the keyboard controls ASDW or arrow keys it is possible to move the player in 8 directions. Holding the button will make the ship move faster and faster to a set speed.

I used this code because it will give the player sprite a floating movement when it moves around the game area. Also, it will be easy to alter the movement of the player when it is needed. In the concept document the player movement is described, and it is important part of the Aetherial game. In the document it is written that the player can move around the entire screen from a 2D perspective and the movement is floaty. This floaty movement makes the player feel like there are at a ship because of the delay between input and action of the player sprite. The player sprite (the ship) was made from one of the artist and the code for the movement was put on that sprite.

The player movement was part of the sprint planning and when it was don and tested by another member of the team it could be marked as finished. And I spent around 3 hours on that code.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment